The Left Right Hand….

Posted: October 8, 2009 in Music
Tags: , , ,
Hamilton blues diva Trish O’Neill and I were having a conversation the other week about how we both happened to be naturally left-handed, but learned to play guitar right-handed.  It was, for her as well as me, a matter of the availability of instruments as much as anything else.
But it led me to wonder, “How many others are there?” Well, once you get around to asking, it would seem that almost as many natural lefties play right-handed as left-handed. LeftHandedGuitarists.com  posts the following list of players who are left-handed, but play righty:
AL ANDERSON (I assume they mean the guy from NRBQ, not the guy who played with Bob Marley)
BILLY BOB THORNTON
BILLY CORGAN
BOB BROZMAN
BRUCE COCKBURN
CALVIN NEWBORN
CARL WILSON *
CHRIS MARTIN (Coldplay)
CHRIS REA
DANNY GATTON *
DAVE HOLE *
DAVID BOWIE *
DAVID BYRNE
DUANE ALLMAN
ELVIS COSTELLO
ERIK DARLING (The Rooftop Singers)
GARY MOORE
GEORGE BARNES
GEORGE VAN EPS *
GILES HEDLEY (Giles Hedley Blues Band, The Aviators)
INORAN (a.k.a. INOUE KYIONOBU)
JANICK GERS (IRON MAIDEN)
JIMMY RAINEY
JOHN WETTON (KING CRIMSON)
JOHNNY WINTER
JULIA ROBERTS
KEANU REEVES
KEITH CARRADINE
LEFTY FRIZZELL
MARE WINNINGHAM
MARK KNOPFLER *
MICHAEL ANGELO BATIO *
MICHAEL BLOOMFIELD
MICHAEL HEDGES
NICK LOWE
NOEL GALLAGHER (Oasis)
PASCAL PERIZ
PAUL LE MAT
PAUL SIMON
PHIL HILBORNE
PRESTON REED *
RIK EMMETT (Triumph)
ROBERT FRIPP
RUVANE KURLAND
STEVE CROPPER *
STEVE MORSE
TED GREENE
I am amazed by how many of my favourites are on here – Steve Cropper, Michael Bloomfield, Al Anderson. I am also amazed by how many super-pickers there are – Danny Gatton, George Van Eps, and one that remains unconfirmed – I’ve always understood Roy Clark to be a member of the fraternity.

 

Comments
  1. acid.glitter says:

    I was surprised to see Inoran listed there. Though, because I’m annoying like this, I’d like to point out that they typo’d his real name. Inoue Kiyonobu.

  2. David says:

    Sorry, I just cut and pasted the list. I didn’t authenticate it in any way. I also left all the actors in, which is a decision I may come to regret.

Leave a comment